adhd
ADHD jubilationtcornpone 2w ago 100%

Periodic Limb Movement Disorder

I was diagnosed with ADHD as an adult although I've demonstrated clear symptoms since early childhood. I manage pretty well with medication.

I tend to "fidget" a lot throughout the day with involuntary movements that tend to vary periodically for reasons that I've never understand. Sometimes it's popping my ears or clenching my jaw. Sometimes it's "popping" my toes, bouncing my leg, or snapping my fingers, etc.

Recently, my wife told me something that I did not know. Apparently I do the same sort of involuntary movements at night to the point that it wakes me up. She said it's been going on for years. I honestly had no idea. It kind of fits the description of "Periodic Limb Movement Disorder." There are some theories that "PLMD" can be a comorbidity with ADHD although the research on this is pretty sparse.

Has anyone else experienced this sort of thing and are there any viable treatment options?

29
4
Comments 4