"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearMU
mutual_aid RiotDoll 2w ago 100%

This is weird but I need help getting my disabled mom's phone back on.

My mom has been severely disabled for honestly more of my life than she's been healthy at this point. It goes back to 2005. She's 61 right now, her brain is kinda addled from oxygen depriv and a lot of medical events, so idk what her finances look like but I can guess she needs more help than she's let on. Her phones are off, her gas is off, and a bundle of other shit is cutting off. I didn't know this till yesterday. she's in the hospital (which is fairly normal tbh). Her fixed income runs at a loss just paying bills and eating as little as possible, and her family are kind of worthless maga shitheads who think this is all somehow her fault. My dad's a deadbeat and they're divorced anyway, she's single, however support amounts to what him, my sister, and myself can divert to her, which is well short of what she needs, especially since right now i'm also dependent on outside help to be solvent.

I'm going down to texas to probably say my goodbyes to my grandfather, who is dying rapidly. My family is mostly dirt poor, and organizing my airfare has drained the people who can actually help her. However, I kind of need her in the loop because her place is 1/2 of my shelter down there for this stay. I can work around no gas for cooking, but I can't really do much with her if i can't communicate with her.

She can restore her phone service for $280. I have no idea about gas, but she asked for $500 total yesterday, which just isn't fucking possible for me. Neither number is something I can really deliver, but I figured i'd try here.

With that phone off, she can't even really get the help she needs. She has one dirt poor ride or die neighbor friend, and i believe she'll do what she can, but there's really no support network here if she's fully cut off from me and my sister. She relies on us to get her any extra support, be that with talking to family or negotiating rides and help from friends, it's all kinda on us, and we do it from hundreds, and thousands, of miles away so we are super limited.

Starting to think i need to set my shit aside and go back in the closet to live with and help her, but I can't do that just yet. I'm just trying to make sure i'm in communication for the month i'll be in the area if at all possible, but I can't make that happen without external help.

If you can help, anything i get sent right now will go to her bills

i can furnish details in private message.

not sure what i'm expecting but i gotta try i guess.

18
8
Comments 8