"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearFE
News from fediverse paul 1w ago 100%

I wished to all that is real I hadn't used the dot Live TLD for my self-hosted Mastodon instance. Domain renewal costs are getting out of control and no way to change domain names and keep posts. I

I wished to all that is real I hadn't used the dot Live TLD for my self-hosted Mastodon instance. Domain renewal costs are getting out of control and no way to change domain names and keep posts. I could spin up a new instance and then migrate my accounts over but lose everything I've posted, replies, etc esp @hashtaggames@oldfriends.live account.

Be nice if Mastodon and Federation had a way to migrate domain names. If the IO domain TLD goes defunct, probably won't, some big instances could be in a bind.

Luckily, those servers will have a couple years to transition, if it does, per ICANN policies. Still.

If wishes were dollars, we would all be rich. #MastoAdmin #Federation #Fediverse .

6
3
Comments 3