"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearOS

[solved] Help reducing map detail. App worked for yrs but suddently got into an extreme detail mode that causes copious chronic crashes

OSMand used to only crash 1 or 2 times per trip. It was usable enough. Now recently something changed with my config somehow and it shows extreme detail no matter how zoomed out I am. Every tiny street is being rendered. This is killing the app. It crashes so chronically it’s unusable.

Anyone know how to control this?

In “configure map” I have disabled everything except cycling routes. The “details” shows 0/9, which apparently only configures objects, not street details.

(edit) I think the “map magnifier” might be the issue. It was at 25% (the lowest), which I would intuitively think means less road detail. But it’s apparently counter-intuitive. I chose 100% and I seem to get less map detail -- which is what I need because the more detail, the more crashes. So I might have solved this.. need to experiment.

4
3
Comments 3