synths
Synthesizers sploosh 7d ago 100%

FYI regarding microKORG, USB MIDI and Minilogue XD

I don't know who needs to hear this, but I figured this out and it's made it possible for me to interface my microKORG with my computer without buying a dedicated USB MIDI interface. It works for passing notes and for loading sysex/using Korg's craptastic software.

The Minilogue XD has a type-B USB port, as well as full sized MIDI in and out. When plugged into the computer, the Minilogue presents two sets of MIDI interfaces - one labelled "midi" and another labelled "sound" or "keyboard," with in and out for each.

By connecting the out from micro to the in on mini and the out on the mini to the in on the micro and using the minilogue's "MIDI" labelled interface on the computer, you can connect to the micoKORG and backup/load your patches.

I imagine this can be done with other instruments or controllers that have USB and standard MIDI interfaces, but I don't have anything else to test with.

6
0
Comments 0