vent

I'm so fucking done with this project already

I'm so fucking done with this project already

I'm removing rust above the windshield and on both sides where the roof panel and side panels meet. I was hoping to finish in one day, but I spent all of yesterday on it, and I've been working since 7 AM today with still more to do tomorrow.

  • Taking off the roof rack was a pain, and putting it back is going to be just as bad.
  • The seam sealer on both sides was an absolute nightmare to grind off.
  • I went through four rounds of grinding, applying rust converter, wiping it off, and repeating the process—yet there are still small spots of rust left, and I just can't be bothered anymore.
  • It's near freezing, so I'm running a 3kW electric heater, which is going to cost a fortune.
  • I didn’t do enough sanding, so now the line between the old and new paint is going to be visible.
  • The antenna would've been a huge pain to remove, so I didn't and that’s probably where new rust will show up in a year or two.
  • I also did a poor job masking before applying the zinc primer, so now I've made a mess I have to clean up.

I just hate it when you try to do a good job, but everything seems to go wrong. You get frustrated, start rushing, and make more mistakes, and in the end, you’re left with a sub-par finish that you'll probably have to redo in a few years because you didn’t do it properly the first time.

42
10
Comments 10